Seoul: doctoral student sentenced to 18 months for 1,141 AI-manipulated sexual images of seven laboratory colleagues
On 10 September 2026 the Seoul Northern District Court sentenced a 30-year-old Chinese national doctoral student to 18 months in prison for habitually producing manipulated sexual images of seven women who worked in his university research laboratory. Investigators found 1,141 files made over about six months from November 2025, and search records for ways to bypass the safeguards of the generative AI Grok; the court found no evidence of distribution. A lawyer for five of the victims said they continued to suffer fear, trauma and distress. Prosecutors had sought three years and public disclosure of his identity, which the court declined.
- AI system
- Unidentified image tool
- Occurred
- Nov 2025
- Reported
- 10 September 2026
- Event location
- South Korea
- What the AI did
- Depicted or impersonated the person
- Reported harm
- Exploitation or AbusePsychological Distress
- Whose AI use
- Someone else’s AI use
- Setting
- Education · Privacy · Justice
- Evidence
- AI involvement supported · Causal attribution supported · 3 sources
- 5 claims: 4 corroborated, 1 reported. 6 open questions
- People reported harmed
- 7 people
AI system as recorded: Generative AI image tools (unspecified; investigators found searches for bypassing Grok's safeguards)
What Happened
A 30-year-old Chinese national studying for a doctorate at a Seoul university was convicted of habitually editing and compositing the faces of seven women from his research laboratory into sexual images and videos over about six months beginning in November 2025. The 1,141 files were kept on his laptop and came to light when other research material was being taken out of the laboratory. Investigators also found search records for ways to bypass the safeguards of the generative AI Grok; the reporting does not say which tool produced the images. He admitted the charges at the first hearing and deposited 7 million won per victim with the court, which the victims refused. On 10 September 2026 the Seoul Northern District Court sentenced him to 18 months in prison with a treatment programme and a five-year employment restriction, citing the seriousness of targeting colleagues and the victims' refusal to forgive, while noting his admission, the absence of evidence of distribution and no prior record; it declined the prosecution's request for public disclosure of his identity.
Reported harm
Seven women had their faces composited into sexual images and videos without consent; a lawyer for five of them told the court they continued to suffer fear, trauma and emotional distress.
Outcome
OngoingFirst-instance judgment of the Seoul Northern District Court (Criminal Division 5, single judge), 10 September 2026: 18 months' imprisonment, 40-hour sexual-violence treatment programme, five-year employment restriction, seizure of evidence, registration as a sex offender on finality; disclosure order declined. Prosecutors had sought three years. Appeal status unknown.
What remains unknown
- Which tool or service generated the images is not stated; the Grok safeguard-bypass searches are the only named system.
- Whether either side appealed the first-instance sentence is not known.
- The victims' ages are not reported; the university is not named here.
- The written judgment was not inspected.
- Exact event start day and end date are not reported; the sources describe about six months from November 2025.
- Sentencing date differs across inspected reports: Newsis and News1 say 10 September 2026; the Korea Herald copy says 9 September. The written judgment was not inspected to resolve this.
What the evidence supports
AI involvement: supported. The court convicted the defendant of habitually editing and compositing the victims' faces into sexual images; Dong-A Ilbo and The Korea Herald report that investigators found search records for ways to bypass the safeguards of the generative AI Grok. The tool that produced the images is not named in the inspected reporting.
5 claims: 4 corroborated, 1 reported. What the statuses mean
Corroborated On 10 September 2026 the Seoul Northern District Court sentenced a 30-year-old Chinese national doctoral student to 18 months in prison under the Sexual Violence Punishment Act for habitually producing manipulated sexual images of seven women from his university research laboratory, and ordered a 40-hour treatment programme and a five-year employment restriction at institutions for children, adolescents and people with disabilities.
Causal attribution. Court judgment as reported by Newsis, News1 via Dong-A and The Korea Herald via The Straits Times; the written judgment was not inspected. The Korean accounts give 10 September while the Korea Herald copy gives 9 September. The record follows the two Korean accounts and retains the unresolved date discrepancy.
- newsis.com(opens in new tab) supports · Korean
Paragraphs 1-2: 서울북부지법 형사5단독 권소영 판사, 10일, 징역 1년6개월; 40시간 성폭력 치료 프로그램 이수; 취업제한 5년; 중국 국적 A(30)씨.
- donga.com(opens in new tab) supports · Korean
Paragraphs 1-3: 징역 1년 6개월; 40시간 치료프로그램; 5년간 취업제한; 중국 국적 대학원생 (30).
- straitstimes.com(opens in new tab) contradicts · English
Opening paragraphs report the same 18-month sentence and associated orders but date sentencing to 9 September. That date contradicts the 10 September date reported by Newsis and News1; this source does not corroborate the exact date.
Corroborated Investigators found 1,141 manipulated images and videos on his computer, produced over about six months from November 2025 using the victims' facial photographs; the court found no evidence the material had been distributed.
Causal attribution. Findings of the court as reported.
- newsis.com(opens in new tab) supports · Korean
Paragraphs 5-8: 지난해 11월부터 약 6개월간; 1141개; 개인 노트북에 보관; 유포됐다고 확실히 볼 만한 정황은 없다.
- donga.com(opens in new tab) context · Korean
Paragraphs 5-6 and 8: 1141건; 유포됐다고 볼 만한 사정은 없는 점.
- straitstimes.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
Paragraph 4: 1,141 files; paragraph 9: no evidence the content had been distributed.
Corroborated Investigators also found records of searches for ways to bypass the safeguards of the generative AI Grok.
Causal attribution. Reported from the investigation; the reporting does not state which tool generated the images.
- donga.com(opens in new tab) supports · Korean
Paragraph 8: 생성형 인공지능(AI) '그록'의 안전장치를 우회하는 방법을 검색한 기록도 확인됐다.
- straitstimes.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
Paragraph 5: 'Investigators also found that he had searched for ways to bypass safeguards built into Grok, a generative AI chatbot.'
Reported A lawyer representing five of the victims told the court they continued to suffer fear, trauma and emotional distress.
Causal attribution. Victims' representative's statement as reported by The Korea Herald.
- straitstimes.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
Paragraph 12: 'a lawyer representing five of the victims asked the court to impose a harsh sentence, saying they continued to suffer from fear, trauma and emotional distress'.
Corroborated The defendant deposited 7 million won per victim with the court; the victims refused to accept it. Prosecutors had sought three years and public disclosure of his identity, which the court declined.
Causal attribution. Procedural facts as reported.
- newsis.com(opens in new tab) supports · Korean
Paragraphs 4 and 9-10: 각 700만원 형사 공탁, 수령 거부; 검찰 징역 3년 구형, 신상정보 공개·고지 요청.
- donga.com(opens in new tab) supports · Korean
Paragraphs 6-7 and 9: 700만원씩 공탁, 수령 거부; 신상정보 공개·고지 명령 면제; 검찰 징역 3년 구형.
- straitstimes.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
Paragraphs 7 and 10-11.
Sources
3 sources inspected. Sources that repeat one account do not corroborate each other.
- 뉴시스 (Newsis), 10 September 2026: "'동료 여성 딥페이크 1141개 제작' 중국인 유학생, 징역 1년6개월"(opens in new tab)
s1 · newsis.com · News report court · Korean · Inspected · 10 September 2026 · Primary
- News1 via Dong-A Ilbo, 10 September 2026: court findings, Grok safeguard-bypass searches, no evidence of distribution (Korean)(opens in new tab)
s2 · donga.com · News agency report syndicated court · Korean · Inspected · 10 September 2026
- The Korea Herald via The Straits Times, 10 September 2026: 'Chinese student sentenced to 18 months' jail in S. Korea for creating 1,100 deepfakes of colleagues'(opens in new tab)
s3 · straitstimes.com · News report syndicated · English · Inspected · 10 September 2026
How the sources were read, and where the events happened
Model read the Korean original retained on 2026-09-15; no independent bilingual human review. Applies to s1.
Model read the Korean original retained on 2026-09-15; no independent bilingual human review. This Dong-A page is a News1 wire report, explicitly credited at the article’s beginning and end. Applies to s2.
The Korea Herald report carried by The Straits Times (Asia News Network); read in English on 2026-09-15. Applies to s3.
Event countries: South Korea. Affected-person countries: South Korea. Court countries: South Korea.
Event and affected persons: the women and defendant worked or studied in the same university research laboratory in Seoul (Newsis; News1 via Dong-A). Court: Seoul Northern District Court. Newsis and News1 date the sentence to 10 September 2026; the Korea Herald copy gives 9 September.
Reviewed for publication 2026-09-15: Published after source, duplicate and sensitivity review under the 2026-09-15 charter: a first-instance criminal judgment reported by two Korean outlets and The Korea Herald. Neither the defendant nor the victims are named; no image content is described beyond the court's characterisation.
People described
Seven women who studied in the same university research laboratory in Seoul
People reported harmed in this case
7 people
0 AI participants · 7 other people harmed
The court identified seven victims, members of the same research laboratory (Newsis; Dong-A; Korea Herald). The defendant is not counted.
Counted once within this case. The same person may appear in other cases. This count does not establish AI causation.
Cite this case
Compiled per our published methodology: verification statuses, sourcing standards, and corrections process.
APA
NOPE. (2026). Seoul: doctoral student sentenced to 18 months for 1,141 AI-manipulated sexual images of seven laboratory colleagues. AI incidents. https://nope.net/incidents/2026-seoul-lab-colleagues-deepfake-sentence
BibTeX
@misc{2026_seoul_lab_colleagues_deepfake_sentence,
title = {Seoul: doctoral student sentenced to 18 months for 1,141 AI-manipulated sexual images of seven laboratory colleagues},
author = {NOPE},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {AI incidents},
url = {https://nope.net/incidents/2026-seoul-lab-colleagues-deepfake-sentence}
} Related cases
Incheon, South Korea: teenager sentenced to up to two years for AI deepfake sexual images of five teachers and six students, distributed on Telegram with the victims' names and schools
On 16 September 2026 the Incheon District Court sentenced a teenage defendant to an indeterminate term of two years (maximum) to one year six months (minimum) under the Sexual Violence Punishment Act for making and distributing false sexual images, ordered a 40-hour treatment programme and a five-year ban on working with children, and took him into custody in court. As a middle-school student in Incheon in 2024 he had used AI deepfake technology to composite the faces of five teachers, including his homeroom teacher whom he tricked into sending photographs, and six female middle- and high-school students from his taekwondo academy onto nude images and videos, 35 productions in all, and distributed them in Telegram 'acquaintance humiliation' chat rooms with the victims' real names, ages, schools, subjects and, per two reports, phone numbers (Hankook Ilbo adds Instagram IDs on some). The teachers learned of the images only in January 2026; the court said they are receiving long-term psychological treatment. He had withdrawn from school a week before the teachers'-rights committee met, avoiding school discipline. The Incheon teachers' union called the sentence, below the prosecution's request, regrettable.
Incheon high-school student jailed for AI deepfake nude composites of his teachers posted online; a civil court later orders him to pay one teacher damages
In July 2024 a high-school student in Incheon, South Korea, composited the faces of two female teachers at his school and of others, including an academy senior and an instructor, onto nude photos and posted them on social media, according to the charges as reported by Yonhap, the Hankyoreh, the JoongAng Ilbo and the Kyunghyang Shinmun, which describe the technique as AI-based deepfake technology. He had also secretly photographed teachers in class. He was expelled after a teachers' rights committee hearing. On 27 August 2025 the Incheon District Court gave him an indeterminate prison term of one year to one year six months and took him into custody; the court said that as a result the victimised teacher had left teaching and had not returned. On 19 December 2025, after he had turned adult, the appeal division raised the sentence to three years, calling the offence close to 'character assassination' and the teachers' mental shock considerable; OBS reports the sentence is final. On 21 October 2026, according to the Incheon Teachers' Union, a civil judge at the Incheon District Court ordered him, now 20, to pay one teacher 17.7 million won of the roughly 72 million won she claimed.
Cookeville, Tennessee: two high-school students were charged with aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor after the sheriff's office said they used an AI program to turn photographs, including those of female classmates, into sexually explicit images and posted them; the mother of one depicted girl says her daughter shut herself in her room and stopped talking to friends
On 31 August 2026 the Putnam County Sheriff's Office was told of possible sharing of sexually explicit images at Cookeville High School. Detectives found that two male teenage students had used an artificial-intelligence program to turn photographs obtained online, in some cases photographs of fellow female students, into sexually explicit images, and had shared them; explicit images already stored on one phone were also shared. Both juveniles were taken to the Putnam County Juvenile Detention Center. One was charged with one count each of aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor and especially aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor, the other with two counts of each. The district attorney told NewsChannel 5 on 21 September that the two would be prosecuted in juvenile court. The mother of one of the depicted girls told the station the episode was very hard on her daughter, who had made no naked photographs herself, locked herself in her room and would not talk to her, to anybody or to her friends. The sheriff's-office account and the school system's statement were carried by WZTV, WSMV and 3B Media News on 1-2 September; NewsChannel 5 added its own interviews with the sheriff, the district attorney and the mother on 21 September. The tool is not named. The juveniles are not named in any report.
Jeju: police refer a middle-school student over secretly filming teachers and making sexual deepfake composites; teachers dispute victim count and legal aid
Jeju Dongbu police announced on 23 September 2026 that a student at a middle school on Jeju had been referred to prosecutors without detention on 17 September for violating the Sexual Violence Punishment Act (filming with a camera or similar device). The student's phone was voluntarily submitted by his guardians and forensically examined; the examination found footage relating to some teachers and some sexual composites, and the student admitted the conduct. News1 reported that the student was booked for filming a teacher's body with his phone during a school field trip around mid-July 2026, that the offending had continued for several months with multiple victims, and that police found no indication the composites had been distributed. Police told Seoul Shinmun there were more victim teachers than the one first reported but withheld the number to avoid secondary harm, and that no student at the school was a victim; the Jeju teachers' union questioned whether the full scope of harm had been established. According to the union, two months on the victim teachers were receiving hospital treatment and counselling while teaching daily, gave police statements on 14 September without a lawyer, attended the regional teachers' rights protection committee on 17 September without institutional support, wrote the criminal complaint themselves, and were offered 3.3 million won in legal fees for all of them together, payable after the case ends; two requests to meet the superintendent were not accepted. On 29 September one of the victim teachers gave a press interview at the Jeju Teachers' Union office. She said that early in the investigation she had seen on the student's phone material showing other teachers and current students, had made a list of the people and types of harm, and that the material shown to her at the police victim examination was considerably less than what she had seen; Yonhap-chain outlets quote her as saying the students she recognised numbered 10 to 20 and that a graduate had suffered worse deepfakes. She said investigators asked the school only to identify the perpetrator and never requested material to identify the students in the footage, and that the school sent parents a letter premised on there being no student victims. Police replied that phone forensics had been thorough, that every act beyond social norms had been identified and proven, and that one student victim had been confirmed, a student at a different school. The teachers were notified on 22 September that the case had gone to the prosecution and on 24 September that it had been sent to the court's juvenile division as a juvenile protection case, before they had submitted further evidence and a victim opinion. The teacher said the original complaint had also asked police to examine whether physical contact in 2025 was forcible molestation and whether repeated approaching and waiting in 2026 was stalking, and Halla Ilbo reports that such conduct is said to date from 2025. Yonhap-chain reports describe the charged victims as five teachers. The same day the education office briefed on legal-aid rules (up to 6.6 million won per instance when a teacher is sued, 3.3 million won per case when a teacher files a complaint; office lawyers cannot act as a teacher's private counsel), said it had linked the teachers to the national Digital Sexual Crime Victim Support Center, announced an integrated support system through a hotline, and its section head said the office was sorry that early support had not been felt. The KTU Jeju branch (28 September) and the Jeju Teachers' Union (14 and 29 September) demand a victim-support system, per-teacher legal fees paid in advance and a dedicated support team. On 6 October 2026 Seogwipo Broadcasting reported, citing people in education and a tipster, that the education authority had finally rejected the victim teachers' application for lawyer fees for an additional criminal complaint, saying in a written opinion that with a police investigation already under way a further complaint could hardly stop or prevent the infringement of their teaching, so the support requirements were not met; critics contrast this with full legal-cost support in earlier sexual-offence cases.
If you or someone you know is struggling, free and confidential support is available. Find a helpline near you at Signpost.