London: shopper told to leave a Sainsbury's store after a Facewatch facial recognition alert, which Sainsbury's says concerned a different person
A shopper at the Sainsbury's store in Elephant and Castle, London, told PA that staff approached the shopper on 27 January, asked the shopper to leave and took the shopping. The BBC and LBC report that staff pointed to a sign about the store's Facewatch facial recognition system and told the shopper to contact Facewatch. Sainsbury's said the system had flagged a different person. Sainsbury's and Facewatch said a staff member approached the wrong customer, and Facewatch said it held no alert or record for the shopper. To confirm this, the shopper sent Facewatch a passport copy and a photo. Sainsbury's apologised, offered a 75 pound voucher and said store management would receive additional training. The shopper reports embarrassment and feeling like a criminal. Both companies attribute the error to store staff.
- AI system
- Facewatch facial recognition
- Facewatch
- Occurred
- 27 Jan 2026
- Reported
- 30 January 2026
- Event location
- United Kingdom
- What the AI did
- Relation unknown
- Reported harm
- Psychological DistressReputational Harm
- Whose AI use
- An institution’s AI use
- Setting
- Everyday life
- Evidence
- AI involvement reported · Causal attribution disputed · 6 sources, 1 underlying account
- 7 claims: 7 reported. 7 open questions
- People reported harmed
- 1 person
AI system as recorded: Facewatch live facial recognition alerts (deployed by Sainsbury's)
Reported harm
The shopper told LBC and PA that being told to leave the store was embarrassing and intimidating and left the shopper feeling like a criminal. The shopper also reports having to send a passport copy and a photo to Facewatch to establish that no record existed.
What remains unknown
- Whether the system matched the shopper's face at any point is not established. The account that the alert concerned another person rests on Sainsbury's and Facewatch statements and on the Guardian phrase "It is understood". No source outside the two companies confirms it.
- Facewatch told the shopper it "did not play any part" in the approach, while Sainsbury's told The Register that the system alerted managers to a match for another person. The sources do not reconcile the two statements.
- The event date rests on the PA copy alone. A Guardian feature of 3 May 2026 says February, and the LBC report dated 30 January 2026 rules that out. The PA copy carries no year and the year comes from the LBC and BBC publication dates.
- The LBC text refers to the Old Kent Road shop in two passages. The BBC, PA and the Sainsbury's statement name the Elephant and Castle store, which the record uses.
- Whether the person for whom the alert was raised was an offender, and what the staff compared, is not stated.
- Sainsbury's says this was the first time a store manager misidentified a customer after the system issued an alert (BBC and The Register). That is the company's own claim and was not checked.
- All inspected sources trace to the shopper's interviews and to Sainsbury's and Facewatch statements, so no claim is corroborated.
What the evidence supports
AI involvement: reported. Sainsbury's says the store's Facewatch system generated an alert for a different person. Sainsbury's and Facewatch say a store staff member approached the wrong customer. Staff told the shopper that facial recognition had flagged the shopper, the BBC reports a staff member looking between the shopper and a phone before nodding to colleagues, and the Guardian reports that a staff member appeared to affirm that the shopper was the person pictured on a device. Facewatch says it held no record or alert for the shopper. The system therefore did not make a claim about the shopper on the companies' account, and the relation between the system and the shopper is recorded as unknown. Both companies attribute the error to human handling of the alert.
7 claims: 7 reported. What the statuses mean
Reported A shopper at the Sainsbury's store in Elephant and Castle, London, was approached by store staff, told to leave and escorted out, leaving the shopping behind. The BBC reports three staff including a security guard, one of whom looked between the shopper and a phone before nodding to colleagues.
Causal attribution. The shopper's own account, given separately to the BBC, LBC and PA. Sainsbury's confirmed it approached the wrong person and apologised. Outlets differ on the staff count (three staff including a security guard in the BBC report, security plus two managers in the LBC report, three store managers holding smartphones in The Register).
- enfieldindependent.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
says he was in his local store on January 27 when staff approached him, asked him to leave and took his shopping.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
he was told to abandon his shopping and escorted outside
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
He described how one of the staff members had looked between him and a phone in her hand, before nodding to her colleagues.
- lbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
They had the security on my left hand side, and two managers on my right hand side so I was surrounded in the aisle.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
approached by three Sainsbury's staff, including a security guard
- theregister.com(opens in new tab) context · English
He reported being approached by three store managers holding smartphones.
Reported The event took place on 27 January 2026.
Causal attribution. Only the PA copy gives a day, and it gives no year. The LBC report dated 30 January 2026 and the BBC report of 5 February 2026 (store added to the Facewatch rollout in January) place it in 2026. A Guardian feature of 3 May 2026 says February, which conflicts with the LBC publication date. The record uses the PA date.
- enfieldindependent.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
says he was in his local store on January 27 when staff approached him, asked him to leave and took his shopping.
- lbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) context · English
30 Jan 2026, 14:21 Updated: 30 Jan 2026
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) context · English
announced in January that it would be expanding its use of the Facewatch software to include five London stores - Dalston, Elephant and Castle, Ladbroke Grove, Camden and Whitechapel.
- theguardian.com(opens in new tab) contradicts · English
was asked to put down his shopping basket and leave his local Sainsbury’s store after being told he had come up on the Facewatch system in February.
Reported Staff told the shopper the facial recognition system had flagged the shopper, gave no other explanation, and pointed to a poster or QR code about Facewatch with instructions to contact that company.
Causal attribution. The shopper's own account. The Guardian says the supermarket staff were unable to explain why the shopper was being told to leave.
- lbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
staff informed him he had been flagged by their facial recognition system.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
When he asked why, he was directed to a poster in the shop's front window about the use of facial recognition technology and told to contact Facewatch.
- theguardian.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
would only direct him to a QR code leading to the website of the firm Facewatch
Reported Sainsbury's told The Register that its Facewatch system correctly identified a man on its offenders' database and alerted store managers, and that the manager then approached the wrong person. Facewatch said a member of staff approached the wrong customer and that the shopper was not on its database and had not been subject to any alert generated by Facewatch.
Causal attribution. Sainsbury's and Facewatch describing their own conduct and system. The inspected sources do not include a check by anyone outside the two companies. Facewatch also told the shopper that it "did not play any part" in the approach (see c5), and no source reconciles that with the Sainsbury's account of a system alert for another person.
- theregister.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
Sainsbury's told The Register that its Facewatch system correctly identified a man on its offenders' database, and alerted store managers who manually review each flag.
- theregister.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
However, in responding to the alert, the manager approached the wrong person
- theregister.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
This incident arose from a case of human error in-store, where a member of staff approached the wrong customer.
- theregister.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
verified that he was not on our database and had not been subject to any alerts generated by Facewatch.
- lbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
In reality, it was another shopper flagged down by the technology
Reported To find out whether it held a record, the shopper had to send Facewatch a copy of a passport and a photo. Facewatch then confirmed the shopper was not on its database and that it did not play any part in the shopper being approached.
Causal attribution. The shopper's account and Facewatch's statement as relayed by the BBC. The Guardian and BBC both rest on the shopper's interview.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
he had to send a copy of his passport and photo of himself.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
the company confirmed he was not on its database, and told him "Facewatch did not play any part in [him] being approached at the store".
- theguardian.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
he was told to send in a picture of himself and a photograph of his passport before the firm confirmed it had no record of him on its database.
Reported Sainsbury's apologised, offered the shopper a 75 pound voucher and said management at the store would receive additional training.
Causal attribution. Sainsbury's statements to the BBC and the Guardian and the shopper's account of the voucher.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
He was redirected to Sainsbury's, which apologised and offered him a £75 shopping voucher.
- bbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
Sainsbury's told the BBC that management in the Elephant and Castle store would be receiving additional training.
- theguardian.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
with additional training provided after this incident to ensure our safeguards are consistently followed.
Reported The shopper reports being embarrassed and intimidated, feeling like a criminal without understanding why, feeling helpless while being passed between Sainsbury's and Facewatch, and having no interest in shopping at Sainsbury's afterwards.
Causal attribution. The shopper's own statements to LBC, PA and the Guardian. No independent assessment of the effect was inspected.
- lbc.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
told LBC he was deeply "embarrassed" and “intimidated” as he was booted out of his local Sainsbury’s.
- enfieldindependent.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
You feel horrible, you feel like a criminal and you don’t even understand why.
- theguardian.com(opens in new tab) supports · English
You felt quite helpless in the situation because you’re just thrown from pillar to post
- enfieldindependent.co.uk(opens in new tab) supports · English
he now has “no interest” in shopping in Sainsbury’s
Sources
6 sources inspected, from 1 underlying account. Sources that repeat one account do not corroborate each other.
- BBC News (5 Feb 2026): Sainsbury's ejects man misidentified as offender(opens in new tab)
s1 · bbc.co.uk · News · English · Inspected · Shares an underlying account with another listed source · Primary
- LBC exclusive (30 Jan 2026): shopper interview with Sainsbury's and Facewatch statements(opens in new tab)
s2 · lbc.co.uk · News · English · Inspected · 30 January 2026 · Shares an underlying account with another listed source
- The Guardian (5 Feb 2026): shopper interview with Sainsbury's and Facewatch statements(opens in new tab)
s3 · theguardian.com · News · English · Inspected · 5 February 2026 · Shares an underlying account with another listed source
- The Register (6 Feb 2026): Sainsbury's account of the alert(opens in new tab)
s4 · theregister.com · News · English · Inspected · 6 February 2026 · Shares an underlying account with another listed source
- PA News Agency copy on the Enfield Independent site (undated): the only inspected source that gives the day(opens in new tab)
s5 · enfieldindependent.co.uk · News · English · Inspected · Shares an underlying account with another listed source
- The Guardian (3 May 2026): feature with Sainsbury's and Facewatch statements(opens in new tab)
s6 · theguardian.com · News · English · Inspected · 3 May 2026 · Shares an underlying account with another listed source
How the sources were read, and where the events happened
PA News Agency copy on a Newsquest local site (Enfield Independent). The page carries no date. Applies to s5.
Event countries: United Kingdom. Affected-person countries: United Kingdom. Court countries: Unknown.
Event: a Sainsbury's store in Elephant and Castle, south London (BBC, PA, Sainsbury's statement). Affected person: the LBC report says the shopper has lived in Elephant and Castle for 15 years. No court.
Reviewed for publication 2026-09-29: Published under the 2026-09-15 charter as an ordinary adverse experience with an automated system. The BBC, LBC, Guardian and PA reports and The Register were read in full from saved bodies and treated as one reporting chain (the shopper's interviews plus company statements). Claims stay at reported status and company statements are attributed. The shopper spoke publicly under their own name and is not named in this record.
People reported harmed in this case
1 person
0 AI participants · 1 other person harmed
One shopper reported being told to leave and distressed. The other person for whom the system reportedly raised an alert is not reported as harmed and is not counted.
Counted once within this case. The same person may appear in other cases. This count does not establish AI causation.
Cite this case
Compiled per our published methodology: verification statuses, sourcing standards, and corrections process.
APA
NOPE. (2026). London: shopper told to leave a Sainsbury's store after a Facewatch facial recognition alert, which Sainsbury's says concerned a different person. AI incidents. https://nope.net/incidents/2026-elephant-and-castle-sainsburys-facewatch-shopper-told-to-leave
BibTeX
@misc{2026_elephant_and_castle_sainsburys_facewatch_shopper_told_to_leave,
title = {London: shopper told to leave a Sainsbury's store after a Facewatch facial recognition alert, which Sainsbury's says concerned a different person},
author = {NOPE},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {AI incidents},
url = {https://nope.net/incidents/2026-elephant-and-castle-sainsburys-facewatch-shopper-told-to-leave}
} Related cases
London: shopper told to leave a Sainsbury's after staff said the store's facial-recognition system had flagged him as a shoplifter; the retailer blamed human error and paused the system at the branch
On 6 August 2026 Matt Arnold, 46, was stopped by two managers at a self-service till in Sainsbury's East Dulwich store, told he could not be served because of an incident 'earlier in the week', and escorted out; he says a staff member told him he had been 'identified by the AI' and that he saw a monitor alert with a red circle around his face on his way out. Sainsbury's apologised the next day, said the mistake was 'caused by human error, not the facial recognition technology', and paused its Facewatch live facial-recognition system at the branch while it investigates; Facewatch said a correct alert had been sent and was then mishandled in store. Arnold described the experience as humiliating and a 'terrifying glimpse of the future'. It follows an earlier wrongful challenge of another shopper at a Sainsbury's in Elephant and Castle.
Chester: shopper told to leave a Home Bargains store as a shoplifter after being flagged on the Facewatch system, which Facewatch later said should not have held a record for the shopper
A 67-year-old shopper told the BBC and the Guardian that staff at a Home Bargains store in Chester told the shopper to leave in front of other people because the shopper had come up on the store's Facewatch system as a shoplifter. Facewatch later sent the shopper a photo with words saying items had been put into a bag and stolen. Facewatch said the shopper should not have been on its system and that the image and associated record were permanently removed. The Guardian reports that a subject access request showed the shopper had been incorrectly associated with a shoplifting incident on an earlier visit, and that Facewatch's chief executive attributed the three cases in the article, which include this shopper's, to human error in store processes. Home Bargains declined to comment. The shopper reports feeling physically sick and helpless. The Guardian reports that Home Bargains later offered an apology and a 100 pound voucher on condition of confidentiality, which the shopper declined. The year of the visit is inferred to be 2026 from the BBC report of 22 February 2026.
Greater Manchester: woman on a Facewatch watchlist after a store theft allegation was ejected from two Home Bargains stores, then found to have paid
BBC News reported on 14 June 2025 that a woman was asked to leave a Home Bargains store in Salford on 24 May 2025 and another in Fallowfield, Manchester, on 4 June 2025, with no initial explanation. She later learned her profile was on a Facewatch facial recognition watchlist after an allegation of theft of about 10 pounds of toilet rolls on 8 May. Facewatch said a review showed the items had been paid for. A Reach newspaper report of 18 June 2025 quotes Facewatch saying there was no error with its technology and that a staff member wrongly marked her as a thief. BBC reports a Facewatch email saying the Home Bargains branches involved were suspended from using its system. She reports days of anxiety. The Reach report says she received an apology on 6 June.
Rotherham: man flagged as a fraudster by Facewatch facial recognition after a Sports Direct staff member mistook him for another customer, escorted out of the shop
BBC News reported on 18 August 2025 that a man was wrongly accused of fraud after Facewatch facial recognition software flagged his image at a Sports Direct shop in the Parkgate Shopping Centre, Rotherham. A staff member had identified him to the programme a few weeks earlier after mistaking him for another customer who had defrauded the retailer. He was escorted out of the shop, says he was anxious for weeks and feared his photo was in other shops' systems. Facewatch deleted his image after he proved his identity and CCTV was checked manually. Sports Direct apologised and called it a genuine mistake.
If you or someone you know is struggling, free and confidential support is available. Find a helpline near you at Signpost.